Breakfast custard

Many countries have a version of this recipe and it’s a great breakfast on a cold morning but does take a little patience to make. Although I find that just cooking for 15 minutes on a higher heat still gives me a result I like.

When I visit my parents I love browsing Nanna’s Dutch cookbooks and this one is in there. Next time I will get a copy of that one. But for the moment the ingredients I’ve listed come from here.

Ingredients

2 cups milk (I prefer Almond milk in this recipe, but rice or oat milk work well too)

2 tablespoons cornflour

2 tablespoons sugar (to taste, I prefer less sweet)

1/8 teaspoon salt

1/8 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Instructions

Mix cornflour, salt, sugar, and cinnamon in a saucepan. Stir in the milk, and heat over medium-high heat. Continue whisking and cooking until custard reaches a thick consistency, 25 to 30 minutes. Stir the ENTIRE time, or the custard will burn or clump. The custard will continue to thicken as it cools. Spoon into bowls to serve.

Note: Depending on the desired consistency cook longer or less.

DDs Approval

Most of the time.

Leave a Reply

